Skip to main content
Comparison · Channel

Lead Marketplace Platforms: Are Angi, Thumbtack, and HomeAdvisor Worth It?

Tunnel = a 1-mile stretch of road you own. Zone = a neighborhood-sized area of about 0.28 square miles that you own. Background = the whole member network, no geography limit. Full glossary

How lead marketplaces actually work

Angi, Thumbtack, HomeAdvisor (now consolidated under Angi), Networx, Bark, and Houzz Pro all run variants of the same model: aggregate homeowner demand through SEO and paid search, capture a service request through a form, then sell that request to contractors as a lead.

The key word is sell, and the clearest statement of what is being sold comes from a securities filing rather than a marketing page. Angi Inc.'s Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025 describes its revenue as including 'lead revenue for consumer matches, which comprises fees paid by Pros for consumer matches (regardless of whether the Pro ultimately provides the requested service)'. That is the whole architecture in one clause: you are buying the introduction, and you buy it whether or not you get the job.

The second structural fact is that the introduction is usually not exclusive. Networx states plainly that 'a single Pay Per Lead will go to up to 4 contractors in total'. Thumbtack does not publish a per-lead share count but does publish a cap: under its Quality Commitment, 'we limit the number of pros a customer can contact to five in the first four hours of their search', after which the customer can contact more. Angi's filing does not state how many pros receive one lead, and we will not guess a number on its behalf.

You will see figures like 'every lead is sold three to five times' quoted widely online. We removed those from this page. They trace to marketing-agency posts rather than to any platform disclosure, and the two share counts that are published (Networx's four, Thumbtack's five-in-four-hours cap) do not support a general rule.

What each platform actually publishes about price

Almost none of them publish prices. Networx is the exception, and its numbers are dated 2023, which we say every time we use them. Angi, HomeAdvisor, and Thumbtack all describe their pricing qualitatively and decline to name a figure. Bark and Houzz Pro publish no per-lead price we can verify at our sourcing bar, so this page shows none for either.

Thumbtack's help center states 'on Thumbtack, you pay for leads: new customers who reach out to you directly' and that 'prices will vary since a job's value can change based on things like the type and size of the job, how many pros are available, and your market'. Pros set their own lead prices and there is no membership fee. Angi's pro FAQ says only that you pay 'a nominal fee for each lead you match to' and that 'different sized jobs have different Lead Fees'.

The practical consequence: any specific dollar range you have been quoted for Angi, HomeAdvisor, Thumbtack, or Bark came from an agency or a forum, not from the platform. Treat it accordingly.

Networx, Pay Per Lead
$10 to $100+

Published range; one Pay Per Lead goes to up to 4 contractors in total (2023)

Networx help center: How much do leads cost
Networx, Exclusive Leads
$15 to $120+

Published range; varies by coverage area and service category (2023)

Networx help center: How much do leads cost
Thumbtack lead price
Not published

Pros set their own price; Thumbtack says price varies by job type, size, market, and pro supply

Thumbtack help center: Pay for leads
Angi and HomeAdvisor lead price
Not published

Pros pay for the consumer match whether or not they end up doing the job (FY2025 10-K)

Angi Inc. Form 10-K, fiscal year 2025

How many contractors get the same lead

This is the number that decides whether marketplace spend works, and only two platforms publish anything about it.

Networx: 'a single Pay Per Lead will go to up to 4 contractors in total and are delivered in real-time via text message and email.' Its Exclusive Leads product is the paid alternative to that sharing, at $15 to $120+ per lead. Both figures were last updated on the Networx help center in June 2023.

Thumbtack: the Quality Commitment states 'we limit the number of pros a customer can contact to five in the first four hours of their search'. Read it carefully. It is a cap on a four-hour window, not a constant, and after four hours the customer can contact more pros. Thumbtack does show a pro how many pros the customer contacted on a given lead, which is more transparency than most of the category offers.

Angi and HomeAdvisor: no published share count. What Angi does publish, in a document filed with the SEC, is that the fee is owed for the match itself. Whether one pro or six received the same homeowner is not disclosed, and this page does not fill that gap with a guess.

We also do not publish a close rate for shared leads. Numbers in the 5% to 10% band circulate widely; every trail we followed ended at a marketing agency, so there is no figure here. The structural point stands without one: you are paying full price for a fractional shot, and you can measure your own close rate on your own invoices in a week.

Networx, contractors per lead
Up to 4

Networx's own wording for a single Pay Per Lead (help center, 2023)

Networx help center: How much do leads cost
Thumbtack, pros a customer can contact
5 in 4 hours

Quality Commitment cap on the first four hours of a search; more after that

Thumbtack help center: Quality Commitment
Shared-lead close rate
Not published

No source at our sourcing bar publishes one, so we quote none

Our sourcing bar

What the FTC alleged about HomeAdvisor leads

The most serious public material on lead quality in this category is a government action, and it needs stating precisely.

In March 2022 the Federal Trade Commission filed an administrative complaint alleging that HomeAdvisor had, since at least mid-2014, made false, misleading, or unsubstantiated claims about the quality and source of the leads it sold to service providers. The allegations included leads that did not match a pro's stated services or service area, and leads from people who had said they were not ready to hire. The FTC described a membership of $287.99 a year plus a fee per lead.

Those allegations were resolved by consent order in April 2023. They were not adjudicated and are not findings of fact. The order required up to $7.2 million, and in November 2023 the FTC sent 110,372 refund checks to service providers. We phrase it this way every time it appears on this site, because the difference between 'a court found' and 'the FTC alleged and the company settled' is a real one.

What a contractor should take from it is narrow but useful: the regulator considered lead-quality claims in this category serious enough to act on, and more than a hundred thousand service providers were in the refund pool.

FTC v. HomeAdvisor consent order
Up to $7.2M

Allegations resolved by consent order, April 2023; 110,372 refund checks sent November 2023

U.S. Federal Trade Commission

Where lead marketplaces actually make sense

There are real, narrow use cases where Angi, Thumbtack, Networx, or Bark make sense for a service business. We see them work in these situations:

  • Cold start with no marketing engine. If you just opened a shop, have no website ranking, no Google Ads account, no reviews, and no referral pipeline, marketplaces give you a metered tap of demand to pay your way through month one. The unit economics are poor but the alternative is zero leads.
  • Geographic gap-fills. A roofer who runs Google Local Services Ads in their core ZIPs but takes occasional jobs across the river can buy targeted leads for the secondary territory rather than building a separate ad account.
  • Slow-season fill-in jobs. When your crew has open capacity in a soft month, the marginal cost of an idle truck is higher than the marketplace fee. That is a real reason to buy leads, and it is a budget line, not a strategy.
  • Buying exclusivity deliberately. Networx is the one platform that lets you see the trade explicitly: $10 to $100+ for a lead going to up to four contractors, or $15 to $120+ for an exclusive one. Whatever you conclude, at least the choice is priced in front of you.
  • Vertical-specific play. Houzz still drives intent for high-end remodel and design, which is a different buyer than an emergency-trade call. It publishes no lead price we can verify, so evaluate it on your own booked jobs rather than on a quoted range.

Where lead marketplaces stop making sense

Once you have a measurable customer-acquisition cost from any other channel (Google Local Services Ads, organic referrals, a wrapped service truck running a tracked phone number), the comparison usually gets uncomfortable.

The arithmetic that matters is not cost per lead, it is cost per booked job, and only one of the two inputs is published. The platforms publish (or decline to publish) the lead price. Nobody publishes the close rate. That makes this a calculation you have to run on your own invoices: take what you actually paid a marketplace last quarter, divide by the jobs you actually booked from it, and compare that to the same figure for your other channels. It takes an afternoon and it beats any benchmark anyone can sell you.

The structural problem is that you cannot compete your way out of lead sharing. Where a platform publishes a share count, it is a share count by design: Networx's four contractors, or Thumbtack's five-in-four-hours window. Speed to lead helps at the margin but does not change the architecture, and Angi's own filing confirms the fee is owed for the match rather than the job.

Mature shops with a tracked acquisition cost usually do not cut marketplace spend to zero. They cap it at a slow-season fill-in budget and run channels they control for primary acquisition.

Side-by-side: what each platform discloses

Compared on what the platforms themselves state, with an empty cell wherever nothing is published. We would rather show a gap than fill it with an agency estimate.

Lead marketplaces vs CPVD: published price, published lead sharing, and the source for each
PlatformPublished pricePublished lead sharingSource
Networx$10 to $100+ Pay Per Lead; $15 to $120+ ExclusiveUp to 4 contractors in total per Pay Per LeadNetworx help center, last updated June 2023
ThumbtackNot published; pros set their own lead prices, no membership feeCustomer capped at 5 pros in the first 4 hours of a searchThumbtack help center: Pay for leads, Quality Commitment
Angi and HomeAdvisorNot published; a 'nominal fee' per match, varying by job sizeNot publishedAngi Inc. Form 10-K FY2025: pros pay for the match regardless of whether they do the job
Bark and Houzz ProNot published at our sourcing barNot publishedNo platform disclosure or qualifying benchmark found
WilDi Maps CPVDFrom $0.25 per verified delivery, set by account tierNone: one delivery goes to one person's inboxOur published rate card; charged only when the member claims

Our honest take

Lead marketplaces are a tool, not a strategy. Angi, Thumbtack, HomeAdvisor, Networx, Bark, and Houzz all run real businesses connecting real homeowners to real contractors. They are not scams. The honest gripe is the architecture, and it is the platforms themselves who describe it: you pay for the match regardless of the outcome, and where sharing is disclosed at all, the lead is shared.

If you have no other channel running, start there. Get cash flowing while you build something durable. The goal should be to make marketplace leads a shrinking share of your booked jobs over six months, not a growing one, and the way to know is your own invoice math rather than anyone's benchmark.

WilDi Maps' Cost Per Verified Delivery sits in a different architecture entirely: from $0.25 per GPS-verified delivery to a real person driving through a tunnel that is yours to claim, charged only when that person claims the offer. No auction, no shared lead, no Middleman Tax. A delivery is not a lead, and this site never treats the two as the same unit.

For the underlying breakdown of where ad-tech revenue gets siphoned before it reaches a customer, see What is the Middleman Tax?

The product

Three ways to deliver: tunnels, zones, background

WilDi Maps is not a single flat-rate product. You pick the tier that matches how local you need to be. All three are GPS-verified per claim, with no auction, no exchange rake, no Middleman Tax.

Tunnel

1-mile road strip

Premium

Hyper-local, just-in-time

Claim a one-mile stretch. When a member enters the strip, they get a just-in-time message, perfect for emergency services, on-route specials, and anything where being right there now beats brand awareness later.

Best for

  • · HVAC, plumbing, water restoration
  • · On-route specials (food, fuel, retail)
  • · Garage door, locksmith, urgent service
Zone

0.28-square-mile area

Premium

Hyper-local, area-based

Claim a one-square-mile block, not tied to a single road. Catches the residential cluster, retail district, or industrial park where your work actually lives. Same just-in-time delivery as tunnels; different geometry.

Best for

  • · Lawn care, pest control, pool services
  • · Tree services, landscaping
  • · Neighborhood-targeted retail
Background

City-wide rotation

From $0.25

per claim, tier-based

City-wide brand presence on rotation. Highest reach for the budget; best when familiarity beats precision. Per-delivery rate drops by tier (Enterprise: $0.25 / Pro: $0.32 / Local: $0.40 / Starter: $0.50). See /pricing for the live rate card.

Best for

  • · Restaurant brands, retail specials
  • · Veteran-owned trust signals
  • · Cross-vertical brand awareness

What the member gets when an ad is claimed

Direct-drive turn-by-turn

If the member wants to act on the ad, the app navigates them straight to the advertiser's location.

Website link

Click-through to any URL: ordering page, brand site, blog post, lead form.

App page

Open a specific page inside the WilDi app: promo details, daily specials, claim instructions.

See the full pricing breakdown on the pricing page.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Angi cost per lead?

Angi does not publish per-lead prices, and neither does HomeAdvisor. Its pro FAQ says only that you pay 'a nominal fee for each lead you match to' and that 'different sized jobs have different Lead Fees'. What Angi does state, in its Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025 filed with the SEC, is that its lead revenue comprises fees paid by pros for consumer matches 'regardless of whether the Pro ultimately provides the requested service'. Any specific dollar range you have seen quoted for Angi came from an agency or a forum rather than from Angi, so this page shows none.

Which lead marketplace publishes its prices?

Networx, and as far as we can find, only Networx. Its help center lists $10 to $100+ per lead on the Pay Per Lead plan and $15 to $120+ on Exclusive Leads, with the price varying by coverage area and service category. That page was last updated in June 2023, which we state every time we use the figures. Thumbtack, Angi, HomeAdvisor, Bark, and Houzz Pro all describe their pricing qualitatively and publish no dollar amount we can verify.

How many contractors get the same lead?

Only two platforms publish anything on this. Networx states that 'a single Pay Per Lead will go to up to 4 contractors in total', delivered in real time by text and email; its Exclusive Leads plan is the paid alternative. Thumbtack publishes a cap rather than a share count: under its Quality Commitment, 'we limit the number of pros a customer can contact to five in the first four hours of their search', and the customer can contact more after that window. Angi's 10-K does not state how many pros receive one lead. Claims that leads are routinely sold three to five times trace to marketing agencies rather than to any platform, so we do not repeat them.

Do shared leads close at a lower rate than exclusive leads?

Almost certainly, and no source at our sourcing bar publishes the numbers, so this page does not quote any. The close rates in the 5% to 10% band that circulate for shared leads, and the 40% to 60% figures for exclusive ones, all trace back to marketing-agency posts without a stated sample or method. What is documented is the mechanism: Networx sends one Pay Per Lead to up to four contractors, and Angi charges for the consumer match whether or not the pro ends up doing the work. Measure your own close rate from your own invoices; it is the only number about your shop that is actually true.

What did the FTC say about HomeAdvisor?

The Federal Trade Commission alleged in a March 2022 complaint that HomeAdvisor had, since at least mid-2014, made false, misleading, or unsubstantiated claims about the quality and source of the leads it sold to service providers, including leads that did not match a pro's services or service area and leads from people who had said they were not ready to hire. Those were allegations, and they were resolved by consent order in April 2023 rather than adjudicated, so they are not findings of fact. The order required up to $7.2 million, and the FTC sent 110,372 refund checks to service providers in November 2023.

What's the alternative to lead marketplaces?

Three alternatives are worth running the math on. First, Google Local Services Ads, which pre-screens the business and charges per valid lead, though Google publishes no lead prices at all. Second, tracked organic and referral pipelines built on a service-area website with consistent review velocity. Third, GPS-verified delivery channels like WilDi Maps' Cost Per Verified Delivery, which charges from $0.25 per delivery to a real person driving through a tunnel you own, with no auction, no shared lead, and no per-lead fee. A delivery is not a lead, so the right way to compare is on your own cost per booked job rather than unit against unit.

What is CPVD?

Cost Per Verified Delivery is the pricing model WilDi Maps runs: from $0.25 each time your offer is delivered to a real phone moving through a tunnel you own, with the location verified at the device rather than inferred from a third-party bid stream. The delivery goes to one person's inbox and is charged only when that person claims it. There is no auction, no exchange rake, no annual membership, and nothing is sold to four contractors at once. It is a different architecture from the lead-marketplace model, not a tuning of it.

What are the WilDi Maps plan tiers?

Four public tiers: Starter ($50 minimum deposit, background only), Local ($250, up to 2 tunnels and 1 zone), Pro ($1,000, up to 8 tunnels and 5 zones), and Enterprise ($3,000, up to 25 tunnels and 15 zones). Per-delivery background rates step down by tier, from $0.50 on Starter to $0.25 on Enterprise. An Agency tier is available through sales.

What exactly counts as a verified delivery?

One verified delivery of your offer to the phone of one real person who was physically inside your chosen geography at that moment, confirmed by GPS on the device itself. That person also taps to acknowledge the offer, so a delivery is never an invisible impression. Bots, background tabs, and off-screen impressions cannot generate one. You are billed only when a verified delivery happens.

How much does it cost to start advertising on WilDi Maps?

The Starter tier opens with a $50 deposit, and that deposit becomes your ad budget. Background deliveries on Starter run $0.50 per verified delivery, so the first deposit buys 100 GPS-verified deliveries to the phones of real local people out on the road. There is no auction and no platform fee stacked on top.

Do I have to bid in an auction?

No. Every tier has a fixed, published rate per verified delivery. The price you see is the price you pay, whether it is game day or a Tuesday morning. Higher tiers carry lower per-delivery rates.

About this analysis

Written by Timm Ross, founder of WilDi Maps · Jacksonville-based · Veteran-owned. Sources cited inline; numbers updated as the underlying research updates.

Published · Last updated

More about Timm Ross

Stop paying the tax. Own the tunnel.

Fixed from $0.25 per GPS-verified delivery. No auction, no exchange rake, no Middleman Tax.